New Zealand Embassy Berlin, Germany

New Zealand competing in the 2010 FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup

A year before the FIFA Women's World Cup 2011 and just after the 2010 FIFA World Cup in South Africa, another FIFA championship kicks off. It is the 2010 FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup in Germany, starting today and running until August 1. The host cities for the tournament are Bochum, Augsburg, Dresden and Bielefeld.

Just like at the World Cup in South Africa, New Zealand is competing in this tournament.   The sixteen national teams participating in the competition are divided into the following four groups:

Group A: Germany, Colombia, France Costa Rica
Group B: Korea DPR, Sweden, New Zealand, Brazil
Group C: England, Nigeria, Japan, Mexico
Group D: USA, Ghana, Switzerland, Korea Republic

Let's see if New Zealand can match its record in South Africa of being the only team  to walk away unbeaten!


Of interest

United Nations Handbook 2015-16

United Nations Handbook

The UN Handbook is a comprehensive guide to the UN system and how it works.  Read more

Prime Minister's media release |

New Zealand wins Security Council seat

New Zealand has secured a place on the UN Security Council for 2015-16. Read the Prime Minister's media release

Registering your overseas travel made easier

Registering your overseas travel made easier

New Zealanders travelling or living overseas, registering your travel online now made easier. Read more

The Christchurch Earthquake Appeal

News about how the donations are contributing to the rebuild, ways to donate and more.