New Zealand Embassy Ha Noi, Viet Nam

Mexico and Canada join Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) negotiations

The New Zealand Minister of Trade Hon Tim Groser has issued statements welcoming Mexico and Canada into the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) as new participants.

The two countries join the existing nine TPP members (Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Chile, Malaysia, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore, the United States and Viet Nam). Given New Zealand’s acting role as the Depository of the TPP Agreement, Minister Groser made statements welcoming each new member on behalf of all existing TPP members, as well as on behalf of the New Zealand Government. All four statements are attached below for information.

New Zealand and Viet Nam continue to cooperate closely within the TPP negotiations.

For more information, the New Zealand Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade website contains a useful “TPP Talk” page which contains full background information and updates on the Trans-Pacific Partnership process.

File TPP members welcome Mexico.pdf
File PR Mexico joins TPP negotiations.pdf
File PR - Canadian statement.pdf
File PR Canada joins TPP negotiations.pdf

Of interest

United Nations Handbook 2015-16

United Nations Handbook

The UN Handbook is a comprehensive guide to the UN system and how it works.  Read more

Prime Minister's media release |

New Zealand wins Security Council seat

New Zealand has secured a place on the UN Security Council for 2015-16. Read the Prime Minister's media release

Registering your overseas travel made easier

Registering your overseas travel made easier

New Zealanders travelling or living overseas, registering your travel online now made easier. Read more | NZ Inc ASEAN strategy

NZ Inc ASEAN strategy

This regional Strategy outlines how New Zealand and ASEAN will become better connected. Read more

The Christchurch Earthquake Appeal

News about how the donations are contributing to the rebuild, ways to donate and more.